Monday, August 20, 2012

Doctors Group to Announce New Policy on Circumcision


http://www.myhealthnewsdaily.c
om/2982-circumcision-aap-policy.html

Doctors Group to Announce New Policy on Circumcision

Aug 20, 2012 | 4:17 PM ET | Rachael Rettner, MyHealthNewsDaily Staff Writer

An influential group of pediatricians is expected to release a new policy regarding infant circumcision next week. The new statement may be a shift towards a greater acknowledgement of circumcision's health benefits, experts said.

The new policy from the American Academy of Pediatricians will be announced on Monday, Aug. 27, according to the media relations manager for the organization.

Currently, the American Academy of Pediatrics' stance on circumcision is that, although some health benefits have been found, the evidence is not sufficient enough to recommend circumcision be done routinely.

______________________________
______________________________________________

Possible AAP Circumcision Task Force Members and Emails


EAlden@aap.org  - Errol Alden, M.D.  – AAP Executive Director/CEO

jay.berkelhamer@choa.org  - Jay E. Berkelhamer, M.D.  [Jewish]

sblank@health.nyc.gov  - Susan Blank, M.D., Chair of the Task Force [Jewish]

michael.brady@nationwidechildr
ens.org  - Michael Brady, M.D.

diek@u.washington.edu - Douglas S. Diekema, M.D.   [Calvinist background]

andrew.freedman@cshs.org – Andrew L. Freedman, M.D. [Jewish]

rjenkins@aap.org – Renee Jenkins, M.D.

Judith.Palfrey@childrens.harva
rd.edu – Judith S. Palfrey, M.D.

rsuchyta@aap.org – Roger Suchyta, M.D.

dtayloe@aap.org – David T. Tayloe, M.D.

dwalter@aap.org – Dan Walter, M.D.

ezimmerman@aap.org – Ed Zimmerman, MS [Jewish]

abaker@aap.org – Alison Baker, MS

armand.antommaria@cchmc.org  – Armand H. Matheny Antommaria, M.D., PhD

mefall01@louisville.edu – Mary Elizabeth Fallat, M.D.

Ian.Holzman@mssm.edu – Ian R. Holzman, M.D.

Leuthner@mcw.edu – Steven R. Leuthner, M.D.

lross@uchicago.edu – Lainie F. Ross, M.D.

webbsa@musc.edu – Sally Webb, M.D.

hschaeffer@maimonidesmed.org – Henry Schaeffer, M.D.

mabbottmd@aol.com – Myles B. Abbott, M.D.

ferushton@embarqmail.com – Francis E. Ruston, M.D.

marybrown@copapeds.com  – Mary Brown, M.D.

mseverson@aap.org – Michael V. Severson, M.D.

ebailey@aap.org – Edward N. Bailey, M.D.

mbull@iupui.edu – Marilyn J. Bull, M.D.

marion.burton@uscmed.sc.edu  – O. Marion Burton, M.D. – AAP Past President

robert-block@ouhsc.edu  – Robert W. Block, M.D. – AAP President

Thomas_McInerny@urmc.rochester
.edu – Thomas McInerny, MD – AAP President- Elect

Danielle Laraque, MD

kyasuda@uw.edu - Kyle Yasuda, MD

sgoza@aap.net - Sara H. Goza, MD

peter.kilmarx@cdc.hhs.gov – Peter Kilmarx, M.D. (Centers for Disease Control)

wcarlo@peds.uab.edu – Waldemar A. Carlo, M.D.

maxwell@email.chop.edu – Lynne G. Maxwell, M.D.

lesley.atwood@allina.com – Lesley Atwood, M.D. (Family Practice)

swegner@ncaccesscare.org – Steven E. Wegner, M.D.

ebuerk@aap.org – Ellen Plummer Buerk, M.D.

scraigo@tuftsmedicalcenter.org – Sabrina D. Craigo, M.D. (Obstetrician)

philip.baese@hsc.utah.edu – Philip Luke Baese, M.D.

jwb14@case.edu – Jessica Wilen Berg, J.D.

aviva.katz@chp.edu – Aviva L. Katz, M.D.

Ellen Tsai, M.D.

CAllen@aap.org - Carole E. Allen, M.D. - Arlington, MA

shassink@aap.net - Sandra Gibson Hassink, M.D. – Wilmington, DE

KMatthews@aap.org - Kenneth E. Matthews, M.D. – College Station, TX

John Curran, M.D. – Tampa, FL
laraqd01@nyu.edu Dr. Laraque is on the Board of Directors of the American Academy of Pediatrics.
She is also a professor of Pediatrics at the School of Medicine at New York University.



3 comments:

  1. Do you think we can really stop this? Its scares me to think that they are possibly going to undo all the good that we intactivists have done.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I think the AAP knows it can not really "undo" much. Those of us awakened will not go "back" even if they could prove more health benefits. We would be asking for them to do some research to find better solutions than amputation of healthy tissue. I think what they want to do, is align themselves with WHO (pro-cir for the AIDS prevention) but sound kind of neutral, BUT, they of course dance around ethics and leave it up to parental choice, as they lately have. It really is not much departure from their last wimpy stance. I would not expect much good from them. I AM hoping that government funding of health care services remains tightfisted though...they might not start using public funds for infants circs again. Don't we have so many other concerns?

    ReplyDelete
  3. The more I read it the more angry I get. It has actually moved quite a bit toward cutting, and toward browbeating parents into cutting:

    "Parents who are considering deferring circumcision should be explicitly informed that circumcision performed later in life has
    increased risks and costs. Furthermore, deferral of the procedure also requires longer healing time than if performed during the newborn period and requires sexual abstinence during healing. Those who are already sexually active by the time they have the procedure
    lose some opportunities for the protective benefit against sexually
    transmitted infection (STI) acquisition, including HIV; moreover, there is the risk of acquiring an STI if the individual is sexually active during the healing process. (See the section entitled
    Sexually Transmitted Diseases, Including HIV.)"

    No suggestion that it ever be not done at all, only "deferred". The word "condom" appears nowhere in three pages about STDs and HIV.

    I am gathering these criticisms together in popup notes on the policy itself at http://tinyurl.com/appanno

    I see no point in writing to the task force, only to other board members and other members of the Bioethics committee than Douglas Diekema.

    ReplyDelete